IGC Bihar Growth Conference 2015

The 5th Annual Bihar Growth Conference was held on the 25th and 26th of July this year in Patna. The conference brought together political leaders, senior bureaucrats, and leading academics together to generate ideas for growth.

Programme is available below.




Welcome Remarks

Shaibal Gupta (IGC& ADRI)

Anjan Mukherji (JNU, IGC & NIPFP)

Inauguration & Keynote Address

Chair: Anjan Mukherji (JNU, IGC & NIPFP)

Inaugural Speeches:

  • Vijay Kumar Chaudhary (Hon’ble Minister, Water Resources, Agriculture and Information & Public Relations, Govt. of Bihar)

  • Bijendra Prasad Yadav (Hon’ble Minister, Energy Department, Govt. of Bihar)

  • Prashant Kumar Shahi (Hon’ble Minister, Department of Education, Govt. of Bihar)

Keynote Address: “Democracy and the Political Management of Primitive Accumulation” by Partha Chatterjee, Columbia University

Session 1: Education

Chair: Rahul Singh (Managing Director, BELTRON, Government of Bihar)

  • IGC Project 1: “Outlays to Outcome” by Yamini Iyer (Accountability Initiative)

  • IGC Project 2: “Choice and cost: the role of household decision making and spending on secondary education in rural Bihar” by Rukmini Banerjee (Pratham)

Discussants :

  • Saumyajit Bhattacharya (Kirori Mal College)

  • Sukanya Bose (NIPFP)

Special Lecture I: On the Alleged Inclusiveness of India's Economic Growth

Chair: Dr. Deepak Prasad (Principal Secretary, Planning and Development)

Special Lecture by S. Subramanian (MIDS)

Session 2: Innovations in Government, Ideas for Bihar

Chair: Sanjay Kumar (Principal Secretary to the Honourable Chief Minister, Jharkhand)


  • Parikshit Ghosh (DSE): Land Acquisition: Balancing Development and Justice

  • Ashwini Kulkarni (Pragati Abhiyan) Better implementation design for policy effectiveness

Special Lecture II: Skilling an Industrial Workforce

Chair: Ashok Kotwal (IGC, UBC)

Lecture by Madhav Chavan (Pratham)