Research Programme Director Dave Donaldson wins prestigious John Bates Clark Medal

Press Release Firms

The American Economic Association (AEA) is awarding IGC Research Programme Director Dave Donaldson (Stanford University) the John Bates Clark Medal, awarded annually to an economist under 40 years old in recognition of “outstanding research accomplishments in economics”.

Previous John Bates Clark medalists include Esther Duflo (2010), Daron Acemoglu (2005), Lawrence Summers (1993), Paul Krugman (1991), and Joseph Stiglitz (1979). For academic economists, the award is regarded as second only to the Nobel Prize in terms of prestige. Although only those working in the US are eligible to win the award, around 40% of the winners have gone on to receive the Nobel Prize.

The IGC appointed Mr Donaldson director of its firms research programme in 2016. He has been actively involved in organising the ‘IGC-SCID firms, trade, and development conference‘ at Stanford University in November 2016 and the ‘FDI, SMEs, firm growth, and trade in East Africa conference‘ in Nairobi that launched the IGC Kenya programme in March 2017. He recently co-authored an IGC growth brief with Amanda Jinhage and Eric Verhoogen examining transport costs in Africa and their effect on trade.

The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association’s Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner. More information on Mr Donaldson’s contributions to economics and a list of Clark Medal recipients is available at

Mr Donaldson will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting, 5-7 January 2018, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.